Bittersweet Homecoming

Were Home!

Wow!  We just spent three weeks living a dream and now in a flash, it’s a memory. It’s hard this morning to face that reality.

Goodbyes are stupid. Nevertheless, we said goodbye to India and are home sweet home. And it is sweet.  Really it is, but man…I miss India. We are so thankful to God for his faithfulness. I can see Him completely covering every aspect of our journey. Bella being amazing for the flights, through the wild and crazy taxi and rickshaw rides, eating the Indian food and then treating the diarrhea, loving on the decaying street kids, learning how to worship God in an Indian context, living in the slums and all the great some might say ‘out of our mind’ things we ventured into…God was WITH us the entire time. I know He was, I SAW HIM. I encountered God. How do you survive life without this once you’ve seen it? I thought being in India for the first couple of days was going to be about survival and now I’m having reverse culture shock. Except, now I don’t face the difficulties of poverty like not having kitchen appliances or running hot clean water, I face a spiritual poverty. How do I live in my context and ENOUNTER God like I just did these last three weeks? I don’t know the answer. So was our trip a success story? I don’t know that either. But after three weeks in India there are three things I am positive of: 1-we were faithful to God’s call 2- God is wonderfully REAL and 3-we will be marked by India forever. And I write to you today SO delighted and reassured that in a foot race for God’s favor faithfulness always wins over success.

Thanks to all of you who supported us financially and who prayed. We return to you with hearts exploding with joy and wonderment of Gods Love. We love you all very much. PSALM 126 

2 responses to “Bittersweet Homecoming

  1. so excited for the things the Lord has taught you and how he has shown you of his work in India! Look forward to hearing more about it from you in person!

  2. It’s hard for me to describe, but what you say is also true for me. I didn’t physically go to India with you, but I was with you in heart and prayer. I know what you mean by spiritual poverty in the U.S. I see that more and more in our churches and schools…I’m sure I sound ridiculous when I say that I wish we could all experience physical poverty so that we could learn what God cares about. I know God isn’t against having money, but I can’t get past how us having SO much puts us at a disadvantage when it comes to experiencing and ushering in the Kingdom of God. I wish I could communicate that more clearly, but I guess Jesus did that pretty well when he said it is harder for the rich to enter the kingdom of God than for a camel to go through the eye of a needle.
    I am glad you are home. But I pray that you keep India and your visits to Calcutta and Mumbai close to you, and to be able to share them with passion and humility so others might see that God has more on his heart than just the recession in the United States.

Leave a Reply

