post election post

After reading this article in a world renowned newspaper, the Merced Sun-Star, I felt compelled to address something that has actually been on my mind since election day.  The Christian community isn’t known for being silent over political matters, particularly relating to gay marriage or abortion.  While I think it’s somewhat of a travesty that we have chosen to throw our full weight and support behind only two issues and neglect others, my intent here isn’t to diminish that support or comment on what other issues we should be talking about.  So, I wasn’t surprised to see church folk proudly displaying “Yes on 8” signs on street corners in the days leading up to November 4th.  I wasn’t surprised to see the Christian community largely supporting the Republican Party and the subsequent disapproval of Obama’s victory.  I was surprised, however, to see the extent of the hostility and animosity Christians displayed at the outcome of the presidential election… and I’m still surprised that so many Christians seemingly place so much hope in a pagan nation.  I was further surprised to see the animosity Christians had toward even their Christian brothers and sisters.  Politics and elections seem to bring out people’s true colors.  I don’t expect Christians to be required to agree on anything non-essential to the Gospel, but I do expect Christians to treat each other with dignity and respect.  We are to bear witness to the transforming power of Christ by the way we love each other, NOT by the way we vote or “stand up for what we believe in” at the polls.  So, to spew venom at another Christian over their thoughts on politics is absolutely inexcusable.  If I have done this to any of my brothers or sisters, I am truly sorry…

With that said, on with the “post election post” and what inspired me to write this anyway…  If you read the article I linked to you above, something should immediately alarm you.  What’s alarming to me is that several times above I referenced to “the Christian community,” which can only be defined here as “white evangelicals.”  I have completely neglected my black brothers and sisters in Christ with my definition.  What alarms me is while white Christians were sickened by the election of Obama, black Christians rejoiced.  While white Christians were sitting in Church on November 9th in sackcloth and ashes, repenting on behalf of the nation’s choice for president, black Christians were blowing rams horns.  How can it be that we are so divided?  What is extremely disturbing is we are not just a reflection of the larger society’s division over race, we are even worse.  As Martin Luther King said over 50 years ago (and articulated VERY well in the book Divided by Faith), Sunday is the most segregated day of the week.  This fact remains and is weighing on my heart today.  Election Day, unfortunately, reveals this divide.

What I hope to be giving here is a desperate plea to Christians everywhere, especially to those who were born with contrasting skin colors, is to be united by the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  Don’t seek unity over a political party, economic policy or state Proposition… for in those things we will always be divided.  Yet, these issues pale in comparison to what really matters, which is the Gospel of Christ.

2 responses to “post election post

  1. extremely well-put. thank you.
    what irks me is the push to go back to the way things used to be…”because we’re a Christian nation, for golly sakes!”…when I’m pretty sure we’re not there anymore. diversified America means diverse everything, including religion and the right to that freedom.

    so now it comes down to biased freedom?
    sigh.

  2. If anything, this election was a mirror to the Christian community’s inner thoughts. You are right, this community is very divided.

    We Christians are very good at the “Us vs. Them” mentality, so hopefully we won’t apply that same mindset to ourselves.

Leave a Reply

