sickness

  • I’m finding out, at least for me, it’s easier to say “God is good” when I’m healthy.
  • I seem to pray more when I’m sick; mostly for healing.
  • I’ve never doubted God can heal; but found out today I doubt whether He actually wants to heal.
  • I’m not sure which presents a greater theological problem…
  • I’m also not sure what makes me feel worse — my sickness, or my daughters.
  • Actually, I don’t know why I just wrote that — it’s my daughters sickness, easily.
  • I feel so awful already, but the things I’d be willing to do (such as take on even more pain) to alleviate the sickness of my daughter have no measure.
  • I begin to understand what kind of love it took for God to willfully bear my sickness for me on his body.
  • Most of all, I begin to understand the sickness God bore for me had no measure
  • And for that, whether sick or healthy, I can easily say… God is good.
6 responses to “sickness

  1. I think my brain just exploded.

  2. Stephanie Ridgeway

    very well said

  3. I believe we had a conversation about 1-3 at Urbana. kind of. “God help, God please, God do, God give me.. etc.” heavens, we’re selfish.

    I’m excited for you guys. you’re in for one heck of a ride. God’s been so good to you.

    my brain just exploded, too.

  4. Great little post there. Loved the bullet-point flow. I felt like I was actually in your brain…we’ll not really. But cool nonetheless!

  5. you think you’re all macho because you know stuff about Jesus…

  6. Very nice… although this is stuck in my head now: http://youtube.com/watch?v=sAmuzdGYGlo

Leave a Reply

