letter to a christian nation by sam harris

To me, the title of this book sounded like what could be someone’s attempt to write what God might say to the church in America. God’s 8th letter in Revelation, perhaps. Well, not so much. Sam Harris can be considered a frontline opponent to any theistic belief system, more specifically Christianity in America (as the book title suggests). I just ran across a video of him speaking at a conference in Canada where he actually opened by saying, “I’m probably going to offend a few people here.” Let me get this straight: he was in Canada, at a conference with people just like him, and he said he’d offend people? I actually heard chuckles in the crowd. I guess he was expecting some opposition. I would link to it here, but decided I really didn’t want anyone who reads this to actually click on it, thus wasting even a moment of their life listening to him. Listen, I’m not the type of guy who would say something like that just because this guy’s goal in life is to “destroy the intellectual and moral pretensions of Christianity in its most committed forms” (that means your faith in God). In fact, I encourage Christians to know why people are atheists and on what grounds. I just honestly think what he has to say is complete foolishness. I was sort of expecting him to logically run through some arguments for his disbelief, but really, the entire speech was a bunch of long words when he could have just said “Christianity in America is stupid.” Honestly, after listening to him for a few minutes, it just made me sad. I like what Albert Mohler has to say about him.

So why did I even post on this at all? Well, its late, I ran across it, was bored, and if anyone asks you who Sam Harris is, now you know.

5 responses to “letter to a christian nation by sam harris

  1. Ultimately, no atheist needs to argue in favor of disbelief.
    No burden is on the atheist to disprove claims of magic.
    Being unconvinced is not a “belief system”.
    It’s just that fantastical, metaphysical claims should be held to the same truth-testing standards as the “earthly” claims are, wouldn’t ya say?
    But I’m no debater. Believe what ya want,
    cheers

  2. I wonder why so many atheists feel the burden, then (in my experience). That’s fine if “being unconvinced is not a ‘belief system,'” but those unconvinced still have some sort of belief system. If something is not true, what IS true? We know what Sam Harris doesn’t believe, but wouldn’t it be helpful to know what he DOES believe, and whether or not it holds up to scrutiny?

    Instead of passing the burden on one another to prove or disprove something, why not just try to find truth objectively?

    “It’s just that fantastical, metaphysical claims should be held to the same truth-testing standards as the “earthly” claims are, wouldn’t ya say?”

    Sure, but I’d argue most unbelievers even tend to elevate truth-testing standards when it comes to “metaphysical” claims such as those in the gospels. Compare other events of ancient history with the resurrection of Christ. Using “truth-testing standards,” virtually all scholars agree Jerusalem Fell in AD 70, and Ceasar Augustus died in AD 14, for example. Using those same standards, the resurrection of Christ is even more of a reliable historical event. You can’t accept the historicity of the Fall of Jerusalem in AD 70 and the death of Caesar Augustus in AD 14 without also accepting the historicity of the resurrection of Christ (using the same standards for each event).

  3. Excellent response Brian.

  4. hey – how did you post an image with the text wrapping around it? i can’t figure out how to do that here….

  5. Amanda, come on. This blog is for serious theological issues only, none of that pointless drivel…

    But I know why you came to the BD for an answer. You must remember how much better my website was than your’s and Phil’s in Cagles class.

Leave a Reply

